The Brain Prize Council

The purpose of The Brain Prize Council is to provide the Grants & Prizes department of the Lundbeck Foundation with advice and guidance on all aspects of the outreach activities related to The Brain Prize.
The seven members of the Council will help ensure that the national as well as international activities support the goals of The Brain Prize and the Lundbeck Foundation and at the same time gives The Brain Prize the best possible visibility. Specifically, council members are expected to:

  • Assist in the evaluating of the entire outreach programme once a year
  • Help scrutinize individual outreach activities
  • Provide advice on reshaping or dismissal of current activities
  • Suggest new activities taking place in Denmark or abroad
  • Evaluate current partnerships with national and international organisations
  • Suggest new partnerships
  • Provide advice on activities and events that may help increase the visibility of The Brain Prize

The seven members of the Council include one member employed at and representing University of Copenhagen, one member employed at and representing University of Southern Denmark, one member employed at and representing Aarhus University, one employed at and representing Aalborg University, one member employed at and representing Technical University of Denmark, one member representing Danish Society for Neuroscience (DSfN) and one member representing The Brain Prize Academy.

Trevor W. Robbins, PhD
Head of the Department of Psychology, University of Cambridge; Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience and Experimental Psychology, University of Cambridge; Angharad Dodds John Fellow in Mental Health and Neuropsychiatry, Downing College, Cambridge; Director, University of Cambridge Behavioural and Neuroscience Institute (MRC and Wellcome Trust).
Representing The Brain Prize Academy

Maiken Nedergaard, M.D., D.M.Sc.
Center for Basic and Translational Neuroscience, University of Copenhagen
Representing Danish Society for Neuroscience (DSfN)

Anders Nykjaer, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medical Biochemistry
Director of the Lundbeck Foundation Research MIND
Dept. of Biomedicine, Aarhus University

Kate Lykke Lambertsen, Ph.d., cand.scient.
Professor WSR
Dept. of Neurobiology Research
BRIDGE, Brain Research – Inter-Disciplinary Guided Excellence
University of Southern Denmark

Gitte Moos Knudsen, Chair
Professor, MD, DMSc
Dept. Neurology and Neurobiology Research Unit,
Copenhagen University Hospital, Rigshospitalet
University of Copenhagen

The Brain Prize