The Brain Prize meeting 2019: Silently losing the Brain – The enigma of small vessel disease


Title: SILENTLY LOOSING THE BRAIN – The enigma of small vessel disease

With international keynote speakers including the 2019 prize winners, The Lundbeck Foundation Brain Prize Meeting aims to bring a broad range of researchers to discuss why small vessel disease has emerged as a major contributor to dementia worldwide.

In a mash-up of emerging clinical and experimental research and researchers this meeting will be the perfect stage for discussing how this up-and-coming field will progress from here.

We hope for participants to build an international network and relationships and to exchange knowledge and ideas.


The Lundbeck Foundation in collaboration with Danish Universities and Danish Society for Neuroscience.


The Lundbeck Foundation Brain Prize Meetings are certified by the University of Copenhagen, Aarhus University and the University of Southern Denmark as an external Ph.D. course worth 1 (one) ECTS point. PhD students must submit an abstract to be eligible for the ECTS point, and participation in the full programme is required.


Participants are invited and encouraged to submit one or more abstracts. All PhD students attending are required to submit an abstract. Abstracts dealing with topics outside of the main theme of the meeting are also welcome. All submitted abstracts will be presented as either short oral presentations or poster presentations.

Only abstracts following the abstract template will be assessed.

You can upload your abstract via our registration system, when signing up for the meeting. For questions related to the abstract please contact Louise Bruun at thebrainprize@lundbeckfonden.com


Poster size: A0 = 1189 (H) x 841 (W) mm – vertical oriented.


10 min presentation and 5 min for questions.

DEADLINE for abstracts: 1 November 2019

A prize of 2.500 Euros will be awarded for the best presentation – oral or poster.


The meeting is open to junior and senior scientists in the field of basic as well as clinical neuroscience. The number of participants is 120, and we aim at mixing participants as follows: 1/3 PhD students, 1/3 PostDocs, 1/3 senior scientists.


Online on a first come first serve basis – priority will be given to participants submitting an abstract.

Please note that all participants are expected to stay for the entire duration of the meeting. This is important in order to create the opportunities and the time necessary for the participants to build trust and strong relations.

DEADLINE for registration: 25 October 2019

Shortly after your registration, you will receive an e-mail invoice from the Lundbeck Foundation.


If you are either a student or affiliated to a Danish university, we need an EAN number to complete your registration. (EAN stands for European Article Number and is a number that all public institutions/Universities use for payment)
Please fill in the EAN number together with your registration and we will charge the University for your payment.

Your registration is complete and will be confirmed, once your payment is received by our finance department. This may take a few days.
Please note that the registration fee is non-refundable.


First 10 undergraduates signing up Free of charge
Undergraduates DKK 1,000
First 30 PhD Students signing up DKK 1,000
All other participants DKK 2,000

The fee includes all meals and lodging.
The registration fee is non-refundable.


The Lundbeck Foundation is one of Denmark’s largest commercial foundations, worth over DKK 60 billion, and we award research grants of around DKK 500 million each year to Danish-based, biomedical sciences research – primarily in the field of brain research.

We are the largest financial contributor to Danish public brain research, and we have an ambition for Denmark to be the world’s leading brain research nation. At the same time, we focus on raising public awareness of the brain and brain disorders.

To learn more about our activities, please go to www.lundbeckfonden.com

Once annually the Lundbeck Foundation awards The Brain Prize – a € 1 mio. personal research prize. The prize is awarded to nurture interest in brain research, to stimulate and reward outstanding brain research and to stimulate Danish brain research through increased interaction with international brain research.


At the Brain Prize Meetings we encourage communication and presentations of unpublished data. All participants must therefore agree that any information presented at the conference, whether in a formal talk, poster session, or discussion, is a private communication from the individual making the contribution and is presented with the restriction that such information is not for public use.

Prior to quoting or publishing any such information presented or discussed at a conference in any publication, written or electronic, written approval of the contributing member must first be obtained. This also applies to social networks, blogs or tweets.

Audio or video recording of lectures by any means, photography of slide or poster material, and printed or electronic quotes from papers, presentations and discussion at the meeting without written consent of the contributor is prohibited.

Each participant at a conference acknowledges and agrees to these restrictions when registration is accepted and as a condition of being permitted to attend a conference.


25-27 November 2019


Comwell Borupgaard
Snekkersten | Denmark (1 hour north of Copenhagen)

DEADLINE for registration: 1 November 2019


Anne Joutel | Inserm, Paris
Elisabeth Tournier-Lasserve | Université Paris Diderot
Hugues Chabriat | Université Paris Diderot/ Hospital Lariboisière
Marie-Germaine Bousser

Christer Betsholtz (Karolinska Institutet)
Hugh Marcus (University of Cambridge)
Jaime Grutzendler (Yale University)
Joanna Wardlaw (University of Edinburgh)
Mikael Simons (Technical University of Munich)
Raj Kalaria (University of Newcastle)
Stephanie Debette (University of Bordeaux)


Anja C. Andersen | Professor of Public Understanding of Science and Technology (University of Copenhagen)


Grethe Andersen
Aarhus University Hospital

Christina Kruuse
University of Copenhagen

Kate Lykke Lambertsen
University of Southern Denmark

Maiken Nedergaard
University of Copenhagen


The Lundbeck Foundation is the sole sponsor of this meeting.


The meeting is in English.