

## Recipient of the new 1 million €, Danish Brain Prize to be revealed on 4 March

## in the International Press Center, Vestergade 2, København, kl. 10

The aim of the Brain Prize - Denmark's first, large international research prize of 1 million € - is both to strengthen European brain research and to provide Danish brain research with inspiration and expertise. "We have created a prize with a personal reward equal to the very best large, international research prizes such as the Kavli Prize, the Lasker Award and the Nobel Prize, says Nils Axelsen, MD, Consultant and Chairman of the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize Foundation, the organisation behind the prize.

The name of the prize winner will be announced on 4 March, and the prize will be presented in Copenhagen on 2 May. Following the award, as part of an associated 'Outreach programme', there will be a range of events at which the prize winner will meet Danish brain researchers. The Brain Prize is a personal prize, awarded to one or more outstanding brain researchers. Scientists from all over the world have nominated a significant, double-digits number of researchers for the prize, and the nominations have been reviewed by a committee of eight, internationally respected brain researchers. The chairman is Professor Colin Blakemore from the University of Oxford.

Alongside his research work, Colin Blakemore has produced scientific programmes on the brain for the BBC for many years, and he is currently working on programme number 700. At the press conference Professor Blakemore will motivate the 2011 award of The Brain Prize. The prize winner(s) will be announced by Nils Axelsen and, at the seminar, the Foundation's vice-chairman, Professor Jens Rehfeld of the University of Copenhagen, and the Chairman of the Danish Society for Neuroscience, Professor Gitte Moos Knudsen of Copenhagen University Hospital, will explain what Danish brain research is expected to gain from the interaction with this year's prize winner(s).

And to give us a break from all of the talk about our fantastic brains, Illusionist Henrik Svanekiær will show us how we can challenge and 'tease' our brains and our senses.

# The Outreach programme will bring out the winner's knowledge to the Danish research environments

The Outreach programme following the award will be extensive. Through the programme's lectures, symposiums and exchange programmes, the prize winner(s) will bring knowledge and experience to the brain research environments in Denmark. The programme will be implemented in collaboration with the universities of Copenhagen, Southern Denmark and Aarhus, whose

Ole Maaløes Vei 3

DK-2200 Copenhagen N

Denmark

Tel. +45 3917 8240 info@thebrainprize.org 28 February 2011



Rectors are all members of the Board of Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize Foundation.

### If you would like more information:

Chairman of the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize Foundation, Nils Axelsen, MD, DMSc consultant, tel. +45 40548646

Director for The Brain Prize, Kim Krogsgaard, MD, DMSc, tel. +45 3917 8240 or +45 2014 8384

#### **FACTS**

#### Objective of the prize:

The objective of the Foundation is to promote interest in brain research and its outcomes, to encourage and reward outstanding brain research and to stimulate Danish research by enhancing interaction with European brain research and, thus, reinforcing the scientific basis for progress in prevention, diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the brain and nervous system.

# The funds behind the prize:

The Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize - The Brain Prize – is awarded by the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize Foundation, a charitable foundation established by the Lundbeck Foundation. The foundation is named after Grete Lundbeck who established the Lundbeck Foundation in 1954.

When the foundation was established, the Lundbeck Foundation's Chairman, Mogens Bundgaard Nielsen, emphasised that the prize had been established under its own auspices in order to ensure that there is absolutely no doubt of the award's independence of the Lundbeck Foundation's commercial interests.

# The prize committee:

The Foundation has appointed an international Selection Committee comprising Professor Colin Blakemore (Chairman), Oxford, England, Professor Tomas Hökfelt (Vice-chairman), Stockholm, Sweden, Professor Huda Akil, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA, Professor Yves Agid, Paris, France, Professor Fred H. Gage, La Jolla, California, USA, Professor Florian Holsboer, Munich, Germany, Professor Ranga R. Krishnan, Singapore and Professor Jes Olesen, Copenhagen, Denmark.

The members of the board are

Nils Axelsen, MD, Consultant, State Serum Institute (Chairman)

Jens Frederik Rehfeld, Professor, University of Copenhagen (Vice-chairman)

Ralf Hemmingsen, Rector, University of Copenhagen

Lauritz Holm-Nielsen, Rector, Aarhus University

Anne-Marie Engel, Head of Research, The Lundbeck Foundation

Jens Oddershede, Rector, University of Southern Denmark

Anders Björklund, Professor, University of Lund, Sweden

Read more at: www.thebrainprize.org