Selection Committee

Provisions for the Selection Committee

The members of the Selection Committee shall represent the highest possible level of expertise within the field of brain research including relevant and comprehensive knowledge about the international scientific world. In terms of scientific merit, recognition and knowledge the members are expected to be outstanding and highly respected by the international scientific community.

The Selection Committee comprises of at least 8 and no more than 12 members. No one over the age of 75 years can be appointed.

The Selection Committee should have members from at least 4 different countries and should not have more than 3 members from the same country.

No member shall participate in the transaction of any business of the Selection Committee in which he/she has a direct or indirect interest. Members shall, on their own initiative, give notice of any matter which may give rise to disqualification.


Joseph Coyle
Professor, McLean Hospital, Harvard Medical School, USA

Geoffrey A. Donnan
Professor, The Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health, Australia

Story Landis – Vice-Chair
Dr., Ph.D., USA

Richard Morris – Chair
Professor, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Ole Petter Ottersen
President, Karolinska Institute,

Philip Scheltens
Professor and Director, the Alzheimer Center, The Netherlands

Irene Tracey
Professor, University of Oxford, John Radcliffe Hospital, United Kingdom

Catherine Dulac
Professor, Harvard University, USA

Mu-ming Poo
Director, Institute of Neuroscience of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

The Brain Prize