The Academy

The Brain Prize Academy is a forum for present and previous prize winners of The Brain Prize. Members of The Brain Prize Academy act as ambassadors for the Prize and give advice to the Lundbeck Foundation management and Board of Directors.

Members of the Academy must ensure to be true to the purpose of the Foundation and the principles underlying its prize awards.

All recipients of The Brain Prize from the inaugural award in 2011 onwards have been invited to join the Academy.


The Academy elects a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its members.

The chairman is Professor Arthur Konnerth – prize winner 2015, the vice-chairman is Professor Trevor Robbins – prize winner 2014.


Members act as ambassadors for The Brain Prize and the Lundbeck Foundation by

  • being proponents of excellence in brain research
  • promoting outstanding brain research
  • promoting international collaboration in the field of brain research
  • being advocates for the principles underlying awards of The Brain Prize

Members are expected to nominate candidates for The Brain Prize.

The Brain Prize