Prize Winners 2019

The Brain Prize 2019 was awarded to Marie-Germaine Bousser, Hugues Chabriat, Anne Joutel and Elisabeth Tournier-Lasserve. Aiming for treatment they have spent more than 30 years describing, understanding and diagnosing the most common inherited form of stroke, CADASIL.


The Brain Prize recognizes highly original and influential advances in research on the nervous system, covering all aspects from fundamental studies to research related to understanding and treatment of diseases of the brain and other parts of the nervous system.

Outreach and Events

A comprehensive outreach programme follows the award ceremony. The outreach programme actively involves the prize winners, and it comprises activities such as lectures, master classes, seminars, summer schools and exchange programmes for researchers.

Programme & Calendar

The outreach programme is conducted in a close collaboration with the three major Danish universities (University of Copenhagen, Aarhus University and University of Southern Denmark) and the Danish Society for Neuroscience together with a wide range of international partners.

The Brain Prize Council

The purpose of The Brain Prize Council is to provide the Grants & Prizes department of the Lundbeck Foundation with advice and guidance on all aspects of the outreach activities related to The Brain Prize.

The Brain Conferences

The Brain Conferences are high-level scientific meetings, where up to 150 experts on a given topic meet in a lively and intimate environment.