Lundbeck Foundation Prizes

Research Prizes

The Brain Prize

Every year, the Lundbeck Foundation awards The Brain Prize, a personal research prize of Euro 1 million – to one or more neuroscientists, who have made ground-breaking contributions to international brain reserach and who are still active within research. The Brain Prize is the largest  – and most prestigious – brain research prize.

Read more about The Brain Prize 

Each year, Lundbeckfonden in addition awards “Research Prize for Young Scientists” and “Talent Prizes” to honour outstanding researchers in biomedical sciences at Danish research institutions, thus drawing attention to the importance of research to our society. It is not possible to apply for these prizes, as candidates must be nominated by leading scientists at Danish research institutions. Candidates may be re-nominated provided that they still meet the criteria.

Research Prize for Young Scientists

Lundbeckfonden’s Research Prize for Young Scientists is a personal, honorary award of DKK 300,000, given to a young scientist under the age of 40.

The prize is awarded once a year to acknowledge a particularly promising scientist who has produced outstanding research in the field of biomedical science.

Lundbeckfonden’s Research Committee reviews the nominations and, then, recommends one candidate to the foundation’s board of trustees. The recipient must be conducting research at a Danish research institution at the time of the award.

Talent Prizes

Lundbeckfonden’s talent prizes are awarded each year to three to five researchers under 30 years of age.

The prize is a personal honorary award of DKK 100,000, given once a year to scientists who have conducted particularly promising research in the field of biomedical science.

Lundbeckfonden’s Research Committee reviews the recommendations and, then, recommends three to five candidates to the foundation’s board of trustees. The recipient must be conducting research at a Danish research institution at the time of the award.

Previous Recipients of Lundbeckfonden’s Research Prize for Young Scientists:

2018 Senior Researcher, Associate Professor, Ane B. Fisker
2017 Professor Janine Erler
2016 Professor Alexander Zelikin, Associate Professor
2015 Professor Robert A. Fenton, PhD
2014 Professor Tom Gilbert, PhD
2013 Darach Watson, PhD, Senior Lecturer
2012 Professor Mads Hald Andersen
2011 Professor Eske Willerslev
2010 Professor Lars Juhl Jensen, PhD
2009 Professor Niels Mailand, PhD
2008 Blagoy A. Blagoev, PhD, Senior Lecturer
2007 Bjørk Hammer, PhD, Senior Lecturer
2006 Professor Hans Braüner-Osborne, PhD (Pharmaceutical Sciences)
2005 Professor Claus Hviid Christensen, MSc
2004 Professor Jens Hjort, PhD
2003 Professor Jacob Rosenberg, MD
2002 Professor Jesper Wengel, PhD
2001 Professor Søren Nielsen, MD

Previous Recipients of Lundbeckfonden’s Talent Prizes:

Thor Haahr, clinical assistant, PhD student, Skive Regional Hospital, Aarhus University
Hjalte Holm Andersen, assistant professor, PhD, Aalborg University
Flemming Javier Olsen, registrar, Herlev and Gentofte Hospital, University of Copenhagen

Tore Bjerregaard Stage, PhD, Assistant Professor, pharmacist, University of Southern Denmark
Andreas Laustsen, MSc in Chemical Engineering, postdoc, Technical University of Denmark
Mads Emil Jørgensen, MD, PhD, Gentofte Hospital
Fatima Al-Zahraa Al Atraktchi, MSc in Physics and Nanotechnology, PhD student, Technical University of Denmark
Christian Laut Ebbesen, PhD, postdoc, biophysicist, University of Copenhagen

Lars Wiuff Andersen, MD, PhD, Aarhus University Hospital
Nicolai Jacob Wewer Albrechtsen, MD, PhD student, University of Copenhagen
Marco Bo Hansen, MD, PhD student, Rigshospitalet
Claes Nøhr Ladefoged, MSc in Computer Science, PhD student, Rigshospitalet

Doctor Kristoffer Andresen, PhD student, University of Copenhagen
Doctor Sigrún Schmidt, PhD student, Aarhus University
Christian Ovesen, medical student, University of Copenhagen
Anton Pottegård, PhD, postdoc, University of Southern Denmark

Johan Burisch, PhD, Hvidovre Hospital/Nordsjællands Hospital
Catharina Steentoft, PhD, University of Copenhagen
Lin Lin, PhD, postdoc, Aarhus University

Tor Biering-Sørensen, MSc (Medicine), Gentofte Hospital
Casper Bindzus Foldager, MSc (Medicine), PhD, Aarhus University Hospital
Jeremy David Silver, MSc, PhD, Aarhus University
Morten Mattrup Smedskjær, MSc, PhD, Aalborg University
Morten Würtz, MSc (Medicine), Aarhus University Hospital

Doctor Jonas Bjerring Olesen
Anne Ersbak Bang Nielsen, MSc, PhD
Kira Irina Astakhova, PhD, Senior Lecturer

Magnus Kjærgaard, PhD, postdoc
Søren Egedal Degn, PhD, postdoc
Thomas Just Sørensen, PhD, postdoc

Lotte Holmegaard, MSc, PhD
Tomasz K. Wojdacz, MSc, PhD
Søren Dinesen Østergaard, MSc (Medicine)

Emil Loldrup Fosbøl, MSc (Medicine), PhD
Mads Toudal Frandsen, MSc, PhD
Kamilla Miskowiak, MSc (Psychology), PhD

Thomas Bjørnskov Poulsen, MSc, PhD
Bjørn Panyella Pedersen, MSc, PhD
Mark Schram, MSc (Engineering), PhD

Alicia Lundby, MSc, PhD student
Michael Pittekow, MSc, PhD
Jacob Sherson, PhD, postdoc

Simon Bekker-Jensen, MSc (Biotechnology), PhD
Darya V. Kiryushko, MSc, PhD
Malene Ringkjøbing Jensen, MSc, PhD

Kasper Kyng, MSc (Medicine), PhD student
Jeppe Vang Lauritsen, , MSc, PhD
Dr Jun Wang, PhD, Visiting Professor

Andrew Bond, PhD, Assistant Professor
Mads Kristian Dalsgaard, MSc (Medicine), Clinical Assistant
Niels Jessen, MSc (Medicine), PhD

Lars Juhl Jensen, MSc (Engineering), PhD
Mette Madsen, PhD, Assistant Professor
Adam Steensberg, MSc (Medicine), Clinical Assistant

Jacob Falck Hansen, MSc
Alexei Komolov, PhD, Research Assistant Professor
Milena Penkowa, MSc (Medicine), PhD, Senior Lecturer



Lundbeck Foundation to cover universities’ indirect costs
10. December 2018
Apply for a Professorship!
5. December 2018
New analytical method exposes the body’s policemen
19. November 2018