Science Panel

Lundbeckfonden's Research Committee and Biomedical Science Panel

Lundbeckfonden’s research and prize committee has three members. All are members of Lundbeckfonden’s board of trustees, elected according to the Foundation’s statutes and skilled in research. The committee members are:

  • Gunhild Waldemar, chair, professor, chief physician, MD, Department of Neurology, Rigshospitalet and University of Copenhagen.
  • Susanne Krüger Kjær, professor, chief physician, MD, Department of Gynaecology, University of Copenhagen and the Danish Cancer Society.
  • Michael Kjær, professor, chief physician, MD, Department of Clinical Medicine, Bispebjerg Hospital and University of Copenhagen.

When evaluating PhD stipends, postdoc stipends and running costs, the research and prize committee is assisted by the Biomedical Science Panel. The eight, external experts are attached to the panel for a three-year period, with an option to extend for a further three years.

The members of the panel are:

  • Jan Gunnar Bjålie, head of institute, Institute of Basic Medical Sciences, Oslo University, Oslo, Norway
  • Hans Erik Bøtker, professor, chief physician, MD, Department of Clinical Medicine – Department of Cardiology B, Aarhus University Hospital
  • Alastair Compston, professor, head of the neurological clinic at Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge, UK
  • Peter Friberg, professor, chief physician, Institute of Medicine, Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Sven Frøkjær, PhD, professor, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Copenhagen
  • Ulf Hedin, professor, MD, PhD, Department of Vascular Surgery, Karolinska University Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Mikael Rørth, professor, chief physician, MD, Department of Oncology, Copenhagen University Hospital and the University of Copenhagen
  • Mart Saarma, professor, PhD, Institute of Biotechnology, University of Helsinki



Genetic sprint – all the way down through the Americas
9. November 2018
Denmark’s most transparent foundation for the third year running
8. November 2018
The Lundbeck Foundation honours three brilliant, upcoming research talents
24. October 2018